What does a. r. stand for in a. r. fifteen?

AR stands for ArmaLite Rifle.

---

The “AR” in “AR-15” rifle stands for ArmaLite rifle, after the company that developed it in the 1950s. “AR” does NOT stand for “assault rifle” or “automatic rifle.”