Who is the original actor that played superman?

George Reeves was the actor that played Superman and Clark Kent in the ABC TV series that originally aired in 1952. As far as movies go, George Reeves stared in the 1951 film Superman and the Mole Men. After that it was Christopher Reeve that stared in the Superman movies starting in 1978.