What does it mean when a cat curls it's tail?

When the tail is wrapped around the cat's body, it could mean a few things. If the cat is nervous, it is a defensive body position. Otherwise, it usually means contentment. If it's accompanied by half-closed eyes and purring - it's definitely contentment!