What is it mean to cream butter and sugar?

Creaming butter and sugar is a process where room temperature butter is placed in a mixer on high, as it is beaten into a creamy texture sugar is incorporated into the butter. They are mixed together until the butter reaches a pale yellow and the sugar is fully incorporated with no granulation.