Is the band queen retired?

Queen has not retired. The band continued on, after the untimely death of their lead singer, Freddy Mercury, in Nov. 1991. They were idle for a time, then brought in Paul Rodgers, who sang for the band from 2005 to 2009. Later, Queen added Adam Lambert, impressed by his American Idol performance.