What's the difference between earl gray and black tea?

Black tea and Earl Grey are both Black tea blends. In terms of flavor, Black tea has an astringent flavor and Earl grey a more floral flavor. Earl Grey is flavored with bergamot peel essential oil, and has less caffeine than black tea.