Where did the phrase goody two shoes come from?

from the nickname of the heroine of History of Little Goody Two-shoes (1766), a popular children's story in which an orphan girl triumphs over adversity through her unwavering virtue and hard work to become a teacher and marry a rich man, using her newfound wealth to help the poor and do good works.