When do babies start speaking?

Babies begin to verbalize at different ages. Some are talking at 1 year old, while others may not utter a word until much later.

---

After 9 months, babies can understand a few basic words like no and bye-bye. They also may begin to use a wider range of consonant sounds and tones of voice. Baby talk at 12-18 months. Most babies say a few simple words like mama and dadda by the end of 12 months - and now know what they're saying.