What is the hobbit?

Hobbits are sometimes called halflings, are small imaginary race of people from J.R.R. Tolkien's books The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. They have large hairy feet, live in cozy holes in hillsides, enjoy good food and second breakfast.

---

The Hobbit, or There and Back Again is a children's fantasy novel by English author J. R. R. Tolkien. It was published on 21 September 1937 to wide critical acclaim, being nominated for the Carnegie Medal and awarded a prize from the New York Herald Tribune for best juvenile fiction.