What is protein leather?

Protein leather, made with a special type of resin as well as egg-shell protein, is a synthetic leather that's more commonly known as leatherette. It shouldn't be confused with pleather, since egg shells are part of the recipe. It's hard to consider a product that supports the egg industry vegan!