What was the bubonic plague?

Bubonic plague is one of three types of plague caused by bacterium Yersinia pestis. One to seven days after exposure to the bacteria, flu-like symptoms develop. Bubonic plague is mainly spread by infected fleas from small animals. It may also result from exposure to the body fluids.

---

The bubonic plague is a past and current illness passed along to humans by fleas. Large numbers of people died in Europe and Asia during the middle ages as a result. The disease has been around longer than that time period though.