What is cross sailing?

Sailing is a song by American singer & songwriter Christopher Cross. The lyrics of the song are about sailing & the beauty & liberation that come with it. Cross said he wrote the song about the fond memories he had while spending the summers of his teenage years sailing in Texas with a close friend.