What does v. a. s. t. n. e. s. s. spell?

Vastness is a noun. It means expansive or huge and is typically used for extremely large objects like the universe.

---

V-A-S-T-N-E-S-S spells "vastness," which refers to a quality of having an extremely large size. It can be considered a synonym with enormity, hugeness, or immensity.