What vegetable is the national emblem of whales?

Leeks. Legend has it that St. David, the Patron Saint of Wales, ordered his soldiers to wear leeks on their helmets during a battle with the Saxon invaders of Britain. Now, on St. David's Day, Welsh soldiers wear leek in their cap badges.