Who is the scientist in a wheelchair?

Professor X (Charles Francis Xavier) is a fictional character appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. ... One of the world's most powerful mutant telepaths, Xavier is a scientific genius and a leading authority in genetics, but you may be referring to Stephen Hawking. R.I.P.