What is arrow root starch?

Arrowroot starch is a starch obtained from tropical tubers, traditionally from the arrowroot plant. Mashing and drying the tubers produces a powder similar to potato or tapioca starch. It is used in cooking to thicken liquids and as a gluten-free flour substitute.