Who invented the tampon?

According to the history of Tampons, Dr. Earle Haas patented the first modern tampon in 1931, tampons had been used for thousands of years prior to that by women. The Papyrus Ebers, the oldest medical document, describes tampons use by Egyptian women as early as the 15th century BCE.