What is a penny made out of?

Up until 1982, U.S. pennies were a type of bronze, 95% copper, with the remainder tin and zinc. Since 1982, they are composed of 97.5% zinc, with a copper coating. Both types were minted in 1982.

---

zinc and copper

---

Pennies are composed of an inner core alloy of 99.2% zinc and 0.8% copper with an outer plating of pure copper, for an overall composition of 97.5% zinc and 2.5% copper.