What does figaro mean in opera?

Figaro is a character, the protagonist of the Le Barbier de Séville (1775; The Barber of Seville) and Le Mariage de Figaro (1784; The Marriage of Figaro), two popular comedies of intrigue by the French dramatist Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais.