When were the first oscars?

the first oscars were, May 16, 1929

---

The Academy Awards is the oldest worldwide entertainment awards ceremony and is the oldest of the 4 major annual American entertainment awards. The awards were first presented in 1929 at a private dinner. They were first broadcast by radio in 1930 and first televised in 1953.