What is the meaning of salt?

In the Caribbean when some one says “salt for you” it means you get nothing or the very least in what ever the circumstance . For example : “Peter I see you got a home in your dads will , what did Jack get ? “ Peter’s reply- “ He got Salt! Nada! Nothing!“