How did seven up get its name?

No-one can claim to know for certain. It was invented by Charles Grigg in 1929 under the name of “Bib-Label Lithiated Lemon-Lime Soda”. In 1936 it was re-named “7-Up”. Grigg never explained his reason for choosing that name. Some theorize the name derived from 7 ingredients in the original recipe.