How do you know when a cat is happy?

Cats have a unique way of showing how happy they are, when they curl up on your lap, besides purring and falling asleep which are the more obvious signs. Having ears facing forward and relaxed whiskers are also signs of a contented cat. Playful behavior is a sure sign of a happy cat.