Why do our nose run?

A runny nose is one of your body's ways of moving bacteria and other unneeded materials out of your nose and sinuses. Allergic reactions to dust, pollen, mold, animal hair, or any of hundreds of allergens can also cause your nasal membranes to become inflamed and produce excessive mucus.