Who invented the compiler?

Grace Murray Hopper was one of the first computer programmers to work on the Harvard Mark I. She was also a United States Navy rear admiral, helped develop COBOL, one of the first high-level programming languages, and invented the first compiler, that translates programming code to machine language.