What is a turkey's snood?

In anatomical terms, the snood is an erectile, fleshy protuberance on the forehead of turkeys. Most of the time when the turkey is in a relaxed state, the snood is pale and 2–3 cm long. ... Snoods are just one of the caruncles (small, fleshy excrescences) that can be found on turkeys.