Where does crystal come from?

In the right conditions, many compounds can form crystals. The atoms form a tight alternating pattern and line up perfectly. The different possible arrangement of the atoms produce the different shapes of crystals. Chemists call the crystal an ionic solid. It breaks along the layers of the pattern.