What does it mean when the moon waxes?

Waxing and waning are terms that refer to the illumination of the moon by the sun. When the moon is getting bigger (phases New to Full) it is waxing. Following third quarter it becomes a waning crescent and continues to shrink until it becomes invisible or unlit at new Moon.