Are marigolds perennials or annuals?

Common garden marigolds are annuals, but because they self-sow, sometimes they are mistakenly identified as perennials. Even in regions with mild winters free of frost, marigolds grow as annuals, with bloom development fading in fall

---

Common garden marigolds are annuals, but because they self-sow, sometimes they are mistakenly identified as perennials.