What's a laugh box?

The Laff Box was invented over 60 years ago by Charley Douglass, an electrical engineer. The box contained 320 different laughs, from childish chuckles to loud guffaws. Douglass could even program custom laugh tracks with a keyboard-like device. The Laff Box is used in TV for sitcoms.