Why do dogs eat toilet paper?

Dogs who eat nonfood items, which include tissues and tissue paper, have a condition called pica. ... If your dog simply tears up the tissue paper or chews it without swallowing, your dog doesn't have pica. Still, your dog might accidentally swallow some pieces by chewing or tearing at the tissue.