What are jellyfish made of?

They are simple creatures lacking a brain, heart or even blood. They are composed of three layers: an outer layer, called the epidermis; a middle layer made of a thick, elastic, jelly-like substance called mesoglea; and an inner layer, called the gastrodermis.