Why are m. and m.'s called m. and m.'s?

Forrest Mars Sr., of the Mars candy company, came up with the idea of a hard shelled candy with chocolate at the center. In 1941 he struck a deal for the chocolate with Bruce Murrie, son of Hershey president William Murrie. They named the candy M&M, which stood for “Mars & Murrie.”