What's the difference between soil and dirt?

Soil is dirt that has been conditioned and augmented with substances plants need to grow and thrive.

---

Dirt is a mixture of san, silt, rocks, and clay. Soil contains dirt but als has minerals, plant matter, worms, water, and microbes.