Why do cats grind their teeth?

Oral pain and dehydration can cause cats to grind their teeth. Other conditions that may cause them to grind their teeth may be: • Gastritis • Low potassium levels • Neuropathy • Rabies • Brain tumors • Renal failure • Bowel disease