Why are they called miranda rights?

The name comes from a 1966 U.S. Supreme Court case, Miranda versus Arizona. A person in custody must be told that they have the right to remain silent, that they have a right to consult with a lawyer, and to have a lawyer appointed to represent them if they are unable to afford one.