How did san diego get its name?

The city of San Diego is named after the bay, which is named after Saint Didacus, known as San Diego de Alcala.

---

Named after San Diego Bay, which had been rechristened by Vizcaino in 1602, in honor of the Franciscan, San Diego de Alcala de Henares, whose name was borne by his flagship.