Why did they call bobby pins bobby pins?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus, a San Francisco–based cosmetics manufacturer, after World War I and came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut" or "bobbed hair" took hold. Although Marcus thought about naming the pin after himself, he chose bobby after the bobbed hairstyle.