What's a highball cocktail?

Highball is the name for a family of mixed alcoholic drinks that are composed of an alcoholic base spirit and a larger proportion of a non-alcoholic mixer. Well-known examples of highballs include the Seven and Seven (whiskey and 7-Up), Scotch and soda, rum and Coke, and Caipirinha.