Why is blackmail called blackmail?

The chieftains, in the border region between England and Scotland in the 16th century and part of the 17th century, ordered landholders to pay them in order to avoid being pillaged. The “mail” in the word meant “tribute, rent”. The “black” in blackmail is thought to be a play on “white money,”.