How long was the egyptian empire?

Usually when speaking of Ancient Egypt, the Dynastic Period is used as a general timeline - the Dynastic Period started with the reign of Egypt's first king, Narmer, in approximately 3100 BCE, and ended with the death of Cleopatra VII in 30 BCE. Thus it lasted well over 3000 years.