Who took prayer out of school?

On June 25 1962 the U.S. Supreme Court declared school-sponsored prayers unconstitutional in the landmark case Engel vs Vitale. It was said it violated the first amendment of the constitution, discriminated against nonbelievers and impair the quality of the education that the children receive.