What is the broadway show wicked about?

Wicked is a precursor story to "The Wizard of Oz." It tells the story of two unlikely friends, Elphaba and Galinda, who struggle through opposing personalities and viewpoints, rivalry over the same love-interest, reactions to the Wizard's corrupt government, and, Elphaba's public fall from grace.