Who invented bacon day?

National Bacon Days dates to 1997. Friends Danya Goodman and Meff Leonard wanted a non-denominational gift-giving holiday at the end of the year. So, in additional tribute to the famously bacon-obsessed Homer Simpson, they named it Bacon Day and celebrated it on December 30th.