Can dark brown sugar be substituted for light brown sugar?

Yes. The two brown sugars are interchangeable in recipes calling for brown sugar. For a delicate caramel flavor, use light brown sugar and for a richer, old-time molasses taste and deeper color, use dark brown sugar.