Are there rattlesnakes in louisiana?

The canebrake rattlesnake, also called a timber rattlesnake, is the most common rattler in Louisiana, camouflage of leaves and wooded areas makes them hard to find. The cottonmouth, also known as a water moccasin, is one of the two most common venomous snakes in south Louisiana.