What is a shadow stick?

A shadow stick is a type of eye shadow makeup that comes in a pencil form. It can be used to complement powdered eye shadow by creating soft highlights in the inner eye corners or brow bone, or it can be applied in an even layer all over the eyelid for a sweep of color.