What is world war world war one?

World War 1 was a global conflict from July, 1914, to November 11, 1918, that devolved into bitter trench warfare, costing millions of lives in Europe and elsewhere. Central Powers (Germany, Austria-Hungary and Ottoman Empire) were defeated by Allied Powers (Britain, France, Russia and the USA).