How many grades of grass are in the world?

There are 10,000 types of grass. You may have thought that grass is grass but worldwide there are probably at least 10 000 different types of grass. Botanists, scientists who specialize in the study of plants, classify grass into four basic sorts – high, tall, mid and short.