What new york yankee wore number sixteen?

Whitey Ford was #16. Edward Charles "Whitey" Ford (October 21, 1928 – October 8, 2020), nicknamed "The Chairman of the Board" wore number 16. The number was retired on August 3, 1974. The Yankees will wear a “16” patch in 2021 to honor his passing last October.